17th International Conference on

Logic for Programming, Artificial Intelligence and Reasoning


Indonesia, officially Republik Indonesia, is a country that constitutes an archipelago of 17,508 islands spreading between two continents: Asia and Australia/Oceania. Situated between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean, the country stretches along 3,977 miles and has a total area of 1.9 million square miles including the ocean waters. The five large islands of Indonesia are Sumatera, Java, Kalimantan, Sulawesi and Papua. With its geological history, Indonesia has around 400 volcanic mountains, 100 of which are still considered active.

Indonesia consists of 33 provinces with Jakarta as the capital of the country. The provinces include two special territories (Nanggroe Aceh Darussalam and Yogyakarta) and one Special Capital Region of Jakarta. The estimated population is around 237 million people with demographic diversity of ethnic groups, religions and faith. As it is constituted by various ethnic groups, many Indonesians speak their ethnic language as their mother tongue, but the official language used is the Indonesian language (Bahasa Indonesia). This demographic diversity also influences Indonesia's cultural art greatly.

Split by the equator, Indonesia's climate is tropical. The temperatures remain fairly constant, with the average of 28 degrees Celsius in coastal plains, 26 degrees Celsius in inland and mountain areas and 23 degrees Celsius in higher mountain regions. Generally there are two only two main seasons: the dry season and the rainy season, but the temperature only varies slightly from season to season. The relative humidity ranges between 70% and 90%.


About Indonesia

Yogyakarta, Indonesia

October 10th - 15th, 2010

Practical Information

  1. -Language: the official language is Bahasa Indonesia.

Some basic phrases in Bahasa Indonesia (also with audio clips) can be found here and here.

  1. - Currency: the currency of Indonesia is the Rupiah (IDR).

ATMs are common throughout Indonesia and can be easily found in most large towns.

  1. - Phone: the country code is 62.
    The local area code for Yogyakarta is 274.

  1. - Electricity: electricity in Indonesia is 220 V.

Guide for the traveller with plugs.

  1. -Time Zone: Indonesia is divided into three time zones (UTC+7, +8, +9)

Time zone for Yogyakarta is UTC+7.